Anonymous
map-marker Washington, District Of Columbia

Poor Quality, Poor Warranty Servicing

If you're looking for poor build quality, and a miserable warranty process, Lennar is the way to go!

The home at Harvest Ridge was built terribly, and under terrible conditions. When purchasing the home, the close date slipped a few weeks due to the exterior not being painted.

They rushed the painting and did it in the cold and in the wind resulting in paint overspray all over the house.

Items identified pre-closing were not addressed, and I had to fight with them to rectify them. For example, they admitted they ran a piece of flexible conduit under a joist and the drywallers drywalled around that leaving it exposed. I had to fight them for them to somewhat fix the issue. They got lazy and decided to mount the doorbell on a piece of 2x4 instead of mounting it to the siding as the other houses had it.

The doorbell and AC did not work once I closed on the house. They refused to look at the AC even during the warmer days because it wasn't "warm enough."

Also, with how the shower door is oriented, it leaks onto the baseboard causing water damage. They came out to "fix" it 3 times, and the problem still persists. Now they are essentially telling me to kick rocks.

The doors are all painted in a satin finish as well as the hinges where they should be left unpainted.

This causes the doors to pick up dirt ridiculously easy. They also didn't paint the backsides of any of the handrails.

Overall terrible quality, terrible handling of warranty claims.

View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Saint Cloud, Florida

Poor warranty service repair, taking for ever to finish it.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Lennar - Poor warranty service repair, taking for ever to finish it.

. Due to the poor construction at the slab and the stucco, my house started leaking to my master bedroom closet and no one from the Lennar home figured out what's causing the leak.

They made a big hole in the middle of the closet and left it like that and send someone to parch it after 10 days. They put some concrete on but it is not even level. No one knows when it is going to finish putting everything back. When they started to work, I thought it is going to finish soon.

But it is now 3 weeks and still not finished and can't even use my master bedroom.

Only 18 months old house. Never recommend to buy a home from Lennar.

View full review

User's recommendation: If you want to waste your money buy Lennar home.

Anonymous
map-marker Katy, Texas

We wish we never bought a lennar home crack brick,on an on an on

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We wish we never bought a lennar home crack brick,on an on an on
We wish we never bought a lennar home crack brick,on an on an on - Image 2
We wish we never bought a lennar home crack brick,on an on an on - Image 3
We wish we never bought a lennar home crack brick,on an on an on - Image 4
We wish we never bought a lennar home crack brick,on an on an on - Image 5
I have talk to Lennar and put in repair been told nothing is wrong put in agin repair request and keep telling me the carpenter and plumber will be out no show structure engineer will be out on 1-3-24 we are retired and cant believe what has happen I never thought this would happen to senoirs citizens in America We need repairs on a less than one year old home
View full review

User's recommendation: dont buy

Jennifer P Kcd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Campeche, Campeche

Encountered an appalling lack of integrity, unfair and reprehensible business conduct!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

At no time prior to purchase did the builder fully disclose that I was sold a house on a plot of land on which almost half of the backyard was actually a public easement on which no structural improvements could be made. This I discovered only after applying to the HOA, requesting and being refused permission to do landscaping.

The survey presented, not reviewed, at closing gives no details about the land restrictions. Who would knowingly buy land just to maintain and pay the taxes without the freedom to use and enjoy as ordinarily expected? Over two months since bringing the matter to top level management, Lennar has yet to take responsibility for non-disclosure about the nature, the extent and limitations regarding the property prior to purchase. For me, as for most people, a home purchase is a long term investment.

The cost here was higher than worth, including the opportunity cost to secure a different, more suitable home. The company has displayed an absolute appalling lack of integrity, unfair and reprehensible business conduct.

View full review
Alex C Zcn

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Katy, Texas

Dodged a bullet

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Do not purchase the house on 8203 Mount Kataka Street, Littleton, CO 80125. It has been sitting in the market for a long time and for good reason.

It started at around $760K which was a complete rip off for the half *** construction on this home. It then dropped to $700K, $680k, and now 678k. They are desperate to close on the house in February. It seems by the numbers to be a great deal but it is not.

Everything is cheap and corners were cut. No backsplash for the kitchen, no kitchen cabinet fixtures, no door for the study. The doors leading to the back patio don't work. The only thing they can offer is to buy down the interest rate.

They will ask for a non-refundable deposit that they can choose to break at anytime. Thankfully my wife and I did not sign any contract with them. After reviewing further Lennar is well known for making subpar homes with questionable warranty protection. The house as built the area is probably worth $580k compared to the other builders in the area.

You will need to spend a significant amount of money to get the home up to value for the area. Thankfully Lennar showed their true colors and we escaped buyers remorse.

View full review

User's recommendation: The are other builders that provide value when comparing homes.

1 comment
Guest

I agree after looking at the pictures online. I can’t believe they ever wanted $760+K.

I wouldn’t consider it for more than $500K. Just some impressions. No curb appeal. Only two parking spaces.

Houses are RIGHT ON TOP of each other. Kitchen looks like whole left side needed finished with more cabinets/counter. No backsplash. No hardware on cabinets.

Third bedroom only 10’x10’. All bathroom fixtures look cheap/low end. The carpet looks like it’s that low grade that’s on a roll at Home Depot.

4100 sq feet but 2000 of it is unfinished basement. Just my quick impressions.

Jennifer T Wbo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Fort Mill, South Carolina

TERRIBLE!!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Lennar - TERRIBLE!!!!
Lennar - TERRIBLE!!!! - Image 2
Lennar - TERRIBLE!!!! - Image 3
Updated by user Oct 25, 2023

Lennar continues to ignore requests to repair the home or provide the items included in the purchase agreement.

Original review Oct 18, 2023
Home slapped together as fast they could just to get the $$$; POOR workmanship; NO customer care; I haven't been able to move because the home is in such poor shape; didn't even put up toilet paper holders; floor is uneven (but I told this is OK); terrible miter & drywall. I keep getting promises of calls that never happen. SHATTERED MY "new" HOME DREAMS!! I won't even refer them to my worst enemy because the don't deserve any business from me.
View full review
Loss:
$50000
Cons:
  • Too many to list

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: RUN A AWAY - DON'T WALK - RUN

Anonymous
map-marker Leechburg, Pennsylvania

Poor craftsmanship

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

We purchased a Lennar home in 12/22. It was a total nightmare.

They wanted us to close on the house before it was even completed. There were no faucets in the home, the bathtub was full of rust (the tub was left outside in the rain). The a/c unit pad was very uneven, there was a large hole on the side of the house and inside of the garage. The stopper for the sink was shoved into the garbage disposal the pavers were installed improperly, which was repaired.

There are just way too many things to list regarding the poor craftsmanship.

We ended up selling the new buyers were able to use the remaining time on the warranty. Stay away from Lennar builders.

View full review

User's recommendation: Do not purchase a home from Lennar

LL T Mko

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Closing the WORST

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Lennar - Closing the WORST
Lennar - Closing the WORST - Image 2
Updated by user Jun 01, 2023

Our closing was dated 5/30/23. Earlier my husband sent information (before the above date)stating a few other things in the home needed to be completed, the person he spoke to told him it was too late, and passed the date. I spoke to the person in charge of this about...

Original review May 29, 2023
This was the worst experience I have ever encountered!!! We have purchased at least 4 new homes and NEVER have been through such a messed up closing and disappointing home purchase.
First, the rate was not locked in as agreed, so we ended up paying over 2 points more, bought down rate.
Second, it was the holiday weekend when they prepared the closing, and they would not budge, even though we requested early enough to change.
Third, the manager was rude, the agent practically cussed my husband out, and they acted like nothing happened when we went to closing.

Cody, the loan officer was rude, and non-communicative, I had to go through every line to make sure they were not charging us too much, some fees could change, and Cody (loan officer) couldn't explain some of the verbiage on the contract, and he kept changing the amount we had to bring to closing. We went to the house every day to make sure things were going as promised, we always had to check on what was going on, I suggest with LENNAR or any builder do this. Make sure you get things completed before your warranty expires. They take a long time to perform the actions needed by the homeowner.

They run through closings like it's a revolving door. I have heard the worst horror stories from many neighbors in our community.
Fourth, our bathroom and bedroom were molded from water under the sink and messed up the carpet in the bedroom. We had to make sure this was fixed properly, they wanted to do something that may come back to haunt us later, my husband firmly requested they fix the problem in a different more efficient way (pics attached).
I heard from one of the vendors there is a class action lawsuit against them. No surprise this happened and more will come.

One of the BEST communicators was a young man by the name of DILLION, he was ALWAYS accessible, checking on customer complaints to see if items were completed. I appreciate you, Dillion.
View full review
Loss:
$2500
Pros:
  • Homes have great curb appeal for greyhawk lawn plants
Cons:
  • Deception on numbers prejudice tendencies race discriminations

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Check everything

Manrit V

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

A Predictory Company

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Their sales practices are deceptive, they over charge for every option between 3X to 5X, their craftsmanship is the absolute worst. They are a nightmare to work with and they prey on nieve first time home buyers.
View full review

User's recommendation: If you have another option, avoid at all cost

1 comment
Guest

I believe the word this reviewer is looking for is 'Predatory.'

Anonymous
map-marker Dallas, Texas

Because I bought a house from Lennar

Lennar home has many problems... I don't let to advise anyone to go get home from lennar. House with different installation problems... Poor Customer service and filled by people running after for their own interest , once you locked no one cares about you. Think twice before coming to Lennar. Welcome to lennar.
View full review

User's recommendation: nothing

Todd M Nzl

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Taitung County, Táiwān

BUYER BEWARE! RESEARCH LENNAR BEFORE YOU BUY

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
BUYER BEWARE! RESEARCH LENNAR BEFORE YOU BUY

BUYER BEWARE ON LENNAR HOMES

I have never posted a single review and do not have any social media, but I felt like I should warn any potential home buyers about a company called Lennar Homes.

My adventure started when I had to move my elderly parents in with me due to illness. My current home is a modest 1800 sq ft 3x2 and certainly not large enough for four adults and two dogs, so I was excited to learn about NexGen housing offered by Lennar.

I live in Phoenix, AZ. In late March of 2023, we found a community still building called Dobbins Village in Laveen, AZ.

I wasnt a huge fan of the salesman, Joseph, but tolerated his arrogance and hubretic approach to sales. I should have seen that red flag but was blinded by my living situation. After all the sales BS, being spoken to like a five year old, and being told NO more time than yes we can for a unit costing more than 630k, we found a home, put down a 20k deposit, and proceeded with the purchase.

We were coupled with a Lennar lender, Christian.

This dude was AWESOME. He more than balanced out The Joey effect and I thought with Joey in the rear view mirror we were gold. The house was being built and we would close on 7/26/23.

I unexpectedly lost my job of 7 yrs on 6/15/23. For anyone reading this in late 2023 or beyond, you should know the economy was in free fall, so losing my job was not only a surprise, but quite painful.

Regardless, I notified my Lennar team as most folks will not lend to the unemployed, an obvious summation, but one that would be pointed out to me several times as I was job loss shamed trying to work out a deal with my deposit.

Joey, of course, was less than empathetic and actually could care less other than the fact that he will miss a commission. I was later passed to the Lennar Area Sales Manager, Joanne. This woman is a piece of work. I thought Joey was bad, he was a saint compared to Joanne.

This post is already too lengthy, but after one more round of job loss shaming, now being spoken to like a 3 year old, and being buried in contractual blather, I just wanted to work something out with my deposit. Needless to say, Joanne was less than helpful, completely void of any humanitarian effort to help me cope with a job loss and this process, and even went so far as to suggest she could possibly help extend my purchase to find a job and complete the deal if I was willing to commit another 5k to Lennar. Again, in 2023, jobs are not falling off trees to qualify for 630k + home purchases.

Realizing I was going to make less progress with Joanne The Great, than with King Joey, I hit the web and reached out to Lennar HQ in Florida. I E-mailed, called, left several VM to both the co-CEO, Jonathan Jaffe, and Ian Frazer, The Sr Manager Financial Reporting.

Based on Lennars corporate org chart, and having dealt with their local AZ employees, I was dubious that I would hear anything from a company that would employ the likes of Joey and Joanne.

After a week of trying to make contact, I think I have to wave the white flag and kiss my 20k goodbye. Why? Because it is all business and profit for Lennar. You are not a customer, you are not family, you are not welcome..you are dollar signs.

I am a regular guy who believes no deal is a good deal unless everyone is happy.

I am not only unhappy, I am lighter in the wallet from this experience. If you choose to purchase a home through Lennar, BUYER BEWARE..

View full review
Loss:
$20
Cons:
  • In the az lending office
  • Christian

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Steer clear unless you like giving money away

KAMRAN A Efk
map-marker Houston, Texas

Lennar cancelled my contract

I purchased new home from Lennar Homes for my Dad on Nov 25th 2023 for an amount of 370K and they took earnest money of 3500.

Home Address - 5615 Island Hill Court Rosenberg TX 77469

My original closing date was Dec 22nd & they moved it to Dec 28th & then I got confirmation email from their loan officer "Josh Blake - joshblake@***.com" that closing has been moved to Jan 2024,despite of written confirmation I got agreement cancellation email from Leah Shackelford Lennar's (Area Sales Manager) on Dec 28th 2023.

This is very frustrating & disappointing I even approached their VP (Anthony Campos) who did not help in reinstating the contract or releasing my earnest money.

View full review
Loss:
$3500

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Please be careful in dealing with Lennar .. in my case their mortgage department and management was not on the same page .. they put all blame on me & sold home at a higher price.

Cyrstal Hjp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Sacramento, California

Complaint

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Poor. The lack of communication and transparency is very unprofessional. I am still purchasing a Lennar home and I am previous Lennar customer and did not experience this type of poor customer service. I have a nephew who resides with me and has special needs. I was shocked that Lennar was not able to assist with quotes for work to be done, address widening the doors before the home was built or adding cement to the entry and exit areas. I am researching what rights I have when it comes to the Disability act.
View full review

User's recommendation: Please document everything!

Featured
Israel F Fgm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

*** job

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

We had a Lenner home built for us in may of 2020 was our move-in. When we did the walk threw on the home, We were told that they would come and do the walk throw at 30 days.

No one ever called to schedule on: an then at a year walk threw.

I talked to the project manager a few times. Finally she told me I needed to go online an schedule the walk threw: why wasnt we told this from day one: time They came to do it. I was about 20 months in. During the walk threw I asked about the grout.

Cause it was looking chalky an had bubbles. I was insured that this was normal . An nothing to be consigned about. We dealt with the contractors not showing up so many times.

And still things are not done: like I have cracks throughout the house that never been fixed that were talked about during the walk through. An now they are saying to much time has passed to be fixed when this was addressed. Also when they came to fix a broken tile; the guy told me that the grout was no good but was scared to write me a letter cause he was In fear of loosing his job for telling me the thrush. The grout is literally turning into dust, and in the shower mold is growing cause the showers were never sealed properly.

I have chronic respiratory failure an mold isnt helping my breathing. Still cracks in the house that hasnt been fixed. Every appliance has broken. Which isnt lenners fault : but I do fill like Tbey put the cheapest possible appliances.

Another thing. We were never told in the walk through at signing that we need to flush the tankless water heater, every year. And if we dont it throws out the warranty ; which guess what the water heater broke.$1800 to fix cause the parts were not covered, because it was never flushed. Had no idea flushing a water heater was a thing.

Also was told it needs to have a plastic protector box around it cause its located outside. Which also threw out the warranty. The AC has broken down so many times cause the AC never had the correct capacitor. Which had to have them come out 4 times already in 2.5 years.

Now the nails are picking threw the walls. You can literally see the top of the nails. An the sheet rock is failing off the nails, if I can post pictures I will: this is unacceptable. We waited 8 months for our dream home to be built .

For us to have a stack of stuff that isnt getting fixed: we have a new born baby and a 2 year old, we wanted a safe forever home for our kids. An this is all I can think of at this moment. But I really wish something could be done . We paid $18k for the tile floors for them to look like crap.

Also the bathrooms were all upgraded an the 2 kids baths are supposed to have framed mirrors like the master bathroom does. But they didnt get the mirrors an I was told they would look into it. Now no one knows anything about that.

11k for the bathroom upgrades to not have the full upgrade: and moldy dusty tile

Please Lenner fix this . 480-578-**** Israel Flores an Kelley stevens

View full review

Preferred solution: Everything fixed properly

Anonymous
map-marker Huntsville, Alabama

Disappointment

Stay away from Lennar builder, their workmanship is terrible, overall they do not care about the future home owner, only want your money. Stay away from this builder. They produce *** work.
View full review
Featured
Elizabeth M Nup

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Nightmare New Homes by Lennar

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Nightmare New Homes by Lennar
My disabled veteran husband, rescue dogs and I have been living in a constant construction zone for OVER A YEAR due to the negligence, shoddy workmanship, and lack of communication from Lennar Homes. A slab leak and the resulting + ongoing damage caused by repairs have disrupted our personal and professional lives irreparably. If you are looking for quality construction or a builder that cares even a tiny bit about a buyer after closing, look elsewhere.
View full review
Cons:
  • Warranty
  • Time
  • Workmanship

Preferred solution: Completion of work (done correctly) repayment for all out out of pocket expenses (without a sneaky NDA attachment), and for potential home-buyers to be aware of the dangers in buying a Lennar Home/meaninglessness of their warrant guarantees.

User's recommendation: Never ever ever ever buy a Lennar Home.

Brands Related to Lennar

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article